How do I determine which climate zone I live in?

According to the U.S. Department of Energy Building America program, there are eight major climate zones in the United States:
• Cold climate zone
• Very cold climate zone
• Mixed-dry climate zone
• Mixed-humid climate zone
• Hot-dry climate zone
• Hot-humid climate zone
• Marine climate zone
• Subarctic climate zone
For more information, see the United States Department of Energy (DOE) guide on Climate Regions which includes a map and list of each climate zone by county.
Best practice design guides for each climate zone are also available from the Building America web site.
Consider contacting your local Extension office for more information. Visit the eXtension web site to find Local Extension offices near you.